May 23 2008

Subject: “Your Life is Crap”

Published by Andromeda Edison at 12:31 pm under subject lines

I have seen three reports from twitter of a spam message with that subject line getting through.

See http://twitter.com/Romie/.

What do people think they are going to get out of sending this message around.

Just told someone recently that spammers try to send out as many messages as possible so that maybe one person out of tens or hundreds of thousands of people will click and they can make money.

Still, what is the deal with that subject line?

Update:

I keep finding more and more people getting this email (like jsjohnst and dwink on Twitter).

Another possibility for sending out this email is the idea of testing email addresses to see which one will bounce and which one will go through to a real email address. The ones that don’t bounce are then real email addresses.

I haven’t seen one of these (if someone wants to send it to me, let me know) but there maybe a small image embedded in the email and if you download it (view the spam message with images turned on), you let the spammers know that it is a real email address.

4 Responses to “Subject: “Your Life is Crap””

  1. AJ Quickon 26 May 2008 at 10:19 am

    I just got one of these emails.

    It didn’t even have a URL or anything in it.

  2. chukamanon 26 May 2008 at 12:00 pm

    To see if the address they sent it to is valid. I just got one, which is strange as Google usually manages to stop 100% of my spam.

  3. Rickon 26 May 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Money?? Not now..

    I suppose they are improving their tecnology.

    They need thousand , maybe millions, computers to send spam.

    Computer have a trojan or something similar and spammers can manipulate them to send spam.

    Pherhaps only a joke or a mistake…

  4. Jeremy Johnstoneon 28 May 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Here’s the raw view of one of the several I got (not the email address didn’t exist, but still removed the domain on the To: anyway). I’m not able to see much use in this unless they are trying to blackflag fallbrooktaxi.com, but doubt that even would be successful with many if any blacklists.

    –Raw Message–

    Received: by 10.150.216.8 with SMTP id o8cs191804ybg;
    Mon, 26 May 2008 10:33:53 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.90.94.2 with SMTP id r2mr367949agb.17.1211823233575;
    Mon, 26 May 2008 10:33:53 -0700 (PDT)
    Return-Path:
    Received: from 45FDA9C943B44D6 ([222.212.48.96])
    by mx.google.com with ESMTP id x55si7917567hsx.5.2008.05.26.10.33.50;
    Mon, 26 May 2008 10:33:53 -0700 (PDT)
    Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 222.212.48.96 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of elusiveness1784@fallbrooktaxi.com) client-ip=222.212.48.96;
    Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: 222.212.48.96 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of elusiveness1784@fallbrooktaxi.com) smtp.mail=elusiveness1784@fallbrooktaxi.com
    Received: from [222.212.48.96] by mail-fwd.sbc-webhosting.com; Tue, 27 May 2008 01:33:51 +0800
    Message-ID:
    From: “Ashley May”
    To:
    Subject: best
    Date: Tue, 27 May 2008 01:33:51 +0800
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain;
    charset=”iso-8859-1″
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
    X-Priority: 3
    X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
    X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 4.72.2106.4
    X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V4.72.2106.4

    your life is crap

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Feed